Speak to a specialist 1300 720 443

Request a
personalised quote

  • Diana’s Peak National Park


Diana’s Peak National Park

The Diana’s Peak National Park was launched in March 1996, encompassing the area of the three peaks; a total area of 81 hectares. It is now part of the National Conservation Areas. Most of the enclosed area is a natural forest, though there still remain many areas of New Zealand Flax which are steadily being cleared.

Diana’s Peak is the highest place on the island, and also one of the more interesting. Diana’s Peak is not alone – it’s part of a range of three summits, all almost equally lofty. The three summits are Diana’s Peak, Cuckold Point and Mount Actaeon. The elevation of the highest peak is generally accepted to be 818m.

It is primarily an area for natural wildlife. 393 invertebrate species which have been recorded on the Central Peaks, 217 of which exist only in St. Helena. These 217 endemic species represent more than half of the total number of species across the whole Island.